No prayers today

as I begin to fast;

As I sit quietly with God, 

I no longer pray.

I no longer pray without movement

Or focus.

  
I sit with candle lit and pray to the Virgin Mary and St Joseph,

And anyone else who will listen and help,

The arms and hands add their own emphasis when requesting comfort and ease.

I am here and she is there, but I am with her on this beautiful day,

Holding her hand and walking on the beach,

Singing quietly 

“I take delight in the strength of the river

Flowing so gently to the arms of the sea.

And I take delight in the love that you give me,

Just like the river it flows here to me.”

(Repeat) 

Pandora plays “How Great Thou Art,”

And the sea breezes flow in to 

Caress my furrowed brow.

Words are no longer sufficient,

Now my body joins my brain, my heart, and my soul

To petition the Great Spirit for help,

To thank Hospice 

And to resume quiet support for a lovely woman who is dying.

Praise God from whom all blessings flow.

Praise him all creatures here below.

Praise him above ye heavenly host.

Praise father, son, and Holy Ghost.

Amen

2 thoughts on “No prayers today

  1. Hello Lloyd M Connelly,
    I couldn’t help the team moved in how my heart touch you from Las Vegas Nevada all the way to where you are when I read your touching words. Is it your wife dying? I wish you strength in the difficult times that you’re going through In peace and serenity.

    Paulette Le Pore Motzko

    Like

    • Thank you for your kind words. No it is not my wife but my muse.
      A woman my age and I discovered we had lived in the same small town in northeaster Nebraska in the late 40’s. I have been writing stories and poems to take with her to chemo. Now she is in Hospice and I pray she is comfortble and accepting. I saw her at church lat Sunday and gave her a tender hug and kiss. You may join me if you wish to pray for VP.
      Bless your heart, so full of love.
      Lloyd

      Like

Leave a comment