Sox on the floor

IMG_2800

My wife thinks it amusing that
I make a pile of sox on the floor
By my bed during the week.
I haven’t noticed, that is
I hadn’t thought of it
As idiosyncratic, odd.

Each evening as I prepare for bed
My sox are the last to go,
Tossed off on the floor
As a marker for the day.

White meant the day started with exercise.
Black meant I was wearing rubber clogs to walk the dog in the marshy park.
Grey meant it was cold or I was riding my bike
Or I had run out of white.

At the end of the week I would
Gather them up and toss them
Into the dirty clothes basket nearby.

And the next week begin again
Tracking the days through the week.

One thought on “Sox on the floor

Leave a Reply

