Two rings

Deanne doesn’t like her rings that cling to her, but my rings are not like that.



This is my bear. He lives on my right hand, middle finger, the one I give when I give you the finger. I found him at the Red Cock (don’t you love the name?) import store in Lincoln City, Oregon maybe twenty years ago. When I put him on my finger he wouldn’t come off. So I kept him and he became an avatar for my Bear spirit guide. 

I’ve done more with bears since. I have a silver Hopi bear claw bracelet. I have a Hopi bear fetish tattoo. A former student that was a bear hunter gave me a bear claw I keep in my medicine bag and his huge fierce bear belt buckle that I’m wearing right now with my kilts.





In reading Native American mythology about bears, we are both raised by our mothers.

The other ring, my wedding ring, I found on the way to Jefferson High School in the middle of the intersection.



You see I had my matching wedding ring stolen while cleaning a sink trap in my science room when I taught at Adams High a few years before, so I thought karma brought me this one to replace it.



Mine used to look like this one which still lives on my wife’s hand.

7 thoughts on “Two rings

  1. This is very beautiful Lloyd. I enjoyed reading and I thought this line was very funny ” He lives on my right hand, middle finger, the one I give when I give you the finger.” ❤

    Liked by 1 person

      • You don’t choose them, they choose you, as a totem.
        From the Manataka web site:
        BEAR MEDICINE

        Bear is spirit keeper of the West, the place of darkness, maturity and good harvest. From this place, Grandfather Bear gives strength, introspection and knowledge.

        Bears are active during the night and day. This symbolizes its connection with solar energy, that of strength and power, and lunar energy, that of intuition. It enhances and teaches those with this totem how to develop both within themselves.

        Grandfather Bear is a solitary dweller and master of his domain. This teaches us the importance of independent thinking and to seek peace in quite meditation to

        Bears are sensitive to Mother Nature’s cycles. They sleep long hours in the winter living on fat stored in their bodies. It teaches us how to go within and find the resources for survival and how to remain balanced amid change. This medicine is a reminder of the great circle of life and rebirth, renewal and fresh beginnings.

        The stars above in infinite meadows of heaven show us the Great Bear in the Sky, Ursa Major, as a sign of the greatness and infinity of bear wisdom.

        Bear is the embodiment of strength and is fierce to a threat on its lair. It is not wise to come between the mother bear and her cubs, teaching us ways to always protect those we love.

        The bear holds the teachings of introspection. When it shows up in your life pay attention to how you think, act and interact. Use

        Liked by 1 person

      • This is beautiful. I love the meaning behind it.
        Rings do feel uncomfortable on my fingers thou
        Both literally and figuratively. However, I do
        like the concept behind the bear ring it’s a
        very nice reminder. Thanks for sharing this
        awesome information. I hope you have a
        wonderful day Lloyd 🙂 thank you

        Like

Leave a Reply

