Taste and touch 

words have effect in the brain

Sand is gritty in my shoe

Tomatoes always taste like they’re fresh



Each word evokes a sensation

Olive oil slips and coats the hot skillet

Tapioca clumps and swallows smoothly

A part of my brain remembers each word

As a taste or touch I’ve had and remembered

Apples snap and juice runs down my arm

My dog’s hair feels so soft after grooming

I deliver myself to ecstasy with these words

And the parts of the brain they stimulate

– Small Town Boy

Leave a Reply

