It is still dark out there

The dark cloud overhead shuts out the sunlight

The showers come intermittently sprinkling the windshield.

My mind is anxious, anxious to do something to make the pain go away.

But that’s not my job.

I asked the assistant pastor, from her perspective as a counselor,

“What should I be doing?” She said, “Just be quiet and listen.”

I tried that. I could not keep silent.  I asked too many questions.

I fell for the old trick, “I’m waiting to  hear some deep wisdom from you?”

But that’s not my job.

When I asked Jeff what to do (my name for the Holy Spirit),

He said, “I’ll act through you.”  Huh?  What does that mean?

So I’m sitting quietly waiting for Jeff to act, and nothing happens.

She’s talking about how unfair it is and why did this happen to her?

I don’t have an answer.

So we do the Animal Spirits Medicine Cards.

26 Squirrel – Gathering,  in the #1 position (Past) said she had stored up  for this.

17 Mountain lion – Leadership, (reversed) #2 (Present) says don’t be led down a primrose path by others.

28 Armadillo  – Boundaries, #3 (future)  says protect yourself with a shield made of what you want/need

33 Weasel – Stealth, #4 (patterns in your life) says he sees and hears what is really being said and done.

2 Hawk – Messinger, (reversed) #5 (Challenges you have just conquered) says you can not penetrate the chaos and confusion.

45 Blue Heron – Self-reflection, #6 (What is working for you) says follow your intuition and begin empowering journey of self-discovery.

14 Dog – Loyalty, (reversed) #7 (What is working against you) says reclaim the loyalty to self and self truths.

The GreatSpirit has spoken to her and she re-reads what it said

and goes to her AA meeting with 

a 14 year token in her pocket.



– Small  Town Boy

Leave a Reply

