Starting to SOAK

Here in the grass, after the rain, near the Port-a-Potty

I sit and listen to happy voices in the trees

From the Volkswagon camp across the ditch

Making me yearn for my ’72 red VW camper.

Next year.

I walked to the upper field past the Thunderbird: Phoenix, eagle, condor?

Two old guys were sitting on the benches inside,

Waiting for a new life?

My friend in moderated despair calls from San Fran

And we change her metaphor from earthquake,

Which ends in rubble,

To Phoenix, which ends in new life.

Now my mates are covering RV, 2 free standings awnings

With a brown parachute from the army surplus store.

I’m in the dark. No, wait they’re tying it up and 

I see the light.

Holy cow someone just messaged me “I love you both madly.”

Life is great.

Leave a Reply

