Drifting

i am purged

I am open

I am overthinking the next step

I am willing to ride it out

I am intending to drift.

Drifting connotes passive acceptance.

Overthinking represents hyper cognition

It feels calm to drift

What’s around the next bend?

Curiosity is aroused

Faith is required

And patience.

And you realize you are advancing

But there is peril?

No false steps here

As I drift,

But sometimes the current is swift

And treacherous, but

All that is required of me is to sit back

And wait for it.

It’s not as easy as you

Might think.

So don’t, think that is.

Other forces spin out of control

But my course is steady

My future is coming 

And I am slowly drifting into it.

Praise be.

  
– Small Town Boy

Leave a Reply

