If

If you knew what I knew,

Would you do what I do?

If you were me,

Would you be who I be?

If you had trod my path,

Would you take the paths I took?

No?

Why not?

Because you are not me?

Because you don’t think like I think?

Because you don’t choose what I choose?

Why?

Who are you that is not me?

Would I do what you do?

Would I think like you?

No, why not?

What makes you be you

And me be me?

Genes?

Experience?

Family?

Or what’s inside,

What continues after,

That which sits on your shoulder

And is the foundation that is you?

Will you be you next time we meet?

Was that you the last time we met?

How will I know you?

Say something.

– Small Town Boy

  

Leave a Reply

