The Puppy

I was walking down the road, alone,

Lost in my own thoughts 

When I found a puppy, a cur really.

I almost passed it by,

Almost.
Until I heard it cry,

Cry as though it’s heart 

Was broken .

Crying, wailing, from

Abandonment, from abuse,

From neglect, from hunger and loneliness.

It spoke to me.

Not in words but in need.

My wife says I’m overly empathetic,

Maybe that was it.

At first it didn’t want me to come near,

To touch.

But it came to

Me that it needed a friend, an ally.

I could be that friend,

Someone to provide safety and healing.

It cried for justice and pain meds.

I wasn’t in a position to provide those things.

But I could clean it up,

Feed it,

Pet it,

Talk with it in low voice.

And soon we were laughing together.

It became stronger with food, care and love.

It wanted to go places, to the dog park, to the vet, to WINCO.

It really liked coffee, the frozen drink with too much calories.

I knew it needed a friend, but

I hadn’t realized that I needed one too.

Someone to do things with.

As it got better it wanted to do something for me in return.

It wanted to tell me how to run my life.

How to deal with children that were takers and had not been cut loose though they were in their twenties.

How to dress, especially without dog hairs and food stains.

How to do nice things for my wife.

It was adamant.

I don’t respond well to being told what to do.

I hadn’t expected criticism and direction.

At this moment I am recovering from such an attack.

I call it an attack because that is what it felt like.

When I get out of my “grouchy bear” mode, I will again take it to the park to play.

Being a friend is harder than I thought.

I’m glad Jeff is helping me with this (the Holy Spirit).

It’s so time consuming, and so emotionally draining, and so affects my relationship with others.

But now I have a friend, and it does too.

  
– Small town boy

Leave a Reply

