Daughters-in-law

Daughters-in-law, whom I call daughters-in–love, are God’s gift to fathers-in-laws.

Who else sends birthday cards and Father’s Day cards,

With sweet messages of love and appreciation. 

Who else lights up and offers hugs and smiles.

I sit with them, each of them, and marvel at my sons’ good taste.

Who else model mothering, wifeing, and steadfast love ?

They didn’t marry me, and yet

I benefit greatly from their family membership.

They didn’t cost twelve cows, but their value is immense.

I didn’t choose them, yet they chose me to share themselves with love, friendship, and respect.

How I love them.

How much they have taught me about love.

Maybe that’s what they’re here for?

Thank you God.

I love my daughters-in-love!

Bless you Debra and Karis.

-Small town boy

Leave a comment