Life Quilt row 2,#2, PWTC

PWTC (Portland Wheelmen Touring Club) holds the Pioneer Century ride in Canby, Oregon in the spring.


I didn’t go on any of the regularly scheduled PWTC rides in my neighborhood in NE Portland (because they rode too fast for me) but I rode the Pioneer Century often.  It was a training ride for other century (100 mi) rides, specifically the Seattle to Portland (STP) 200 mile ride in July.

http://pwtc.com/node/939

The STP rides from Seattle to Portland, and the last time I rode it we started at a University of Washington dorm and the first miles were underground on the express lanes of I-5 freeway.

https://cascade.org/rides-major-rides/group-health-stp-presented-alaska-airlines?gclid=CjwKEAjw34i_BRDH9fbylbDJw1gSJAAvIFqU7tfvmdpg40MO0Qsh0esuBHxQvaZzpCv7R93MuXaRdhoCaOvw_wcB

I’ve ridden the STP three times.


This is the Bike Sat ‘R day, a recumbent fold up bike with under seat steering (USS) and a short wheel base.  This is a picture from a ride in Wisconsin, but you get the idea.

http://pwtc.com/node/939

After my son Jacquari’s  heroic ride 65 miles to Pacific City (on Reach the Beach ride, seen later in this life quilt.) on his BMX bike, I bought him a bike with lots of gears and took him on. The Pioneer Century. He had nine flat tires!  He learned how to repair a flat in spades.

– Small town boy

Leave a Reply

