Life Quilt row 3, #2 – El Porvenir

After traveling to Mexico and Peru with Northwest Medical Teams (Now called Medical Teams International), a faith based organization I began to see that I was on a spiritual path as well as a global volunteering mission.

Well, I thought, Episcopalians are Christians too! So when in 2006 my former church in Portland (Hollywood) St. Michael and All Angels decided to return to Nicaragua with El Porvenir, I was all “Let’s go!”

I was mightily disappointed. Oh the work teams worked, boy did they, and the site was perfect, and the touring around Nicaragua was wonderful, but to get them to say even grace at meals was like pulling teeth. Finally, they let me sing the Johnny appleseed Song (Oh, the Lord is good to me, and so I thank the Lord. He gives me the sun and the rain and the appleseed. The Lord is good to me.)


We were near the town of Dario in a community of 16 families around a well.  The old well had been made unusealble for any thing but irrigation and animals by Hurricane Mitch in 1998. El Porvenir had made a new well that was quite efficient for household water, drinking water, laundry and showers.  All we had to do was build them.

Leave a Reply

