Listen

I may have mentioned that I have been advised to listen.

It is against my nature.

I don’t like to listen.

Being alone at the beach in stormy weather has allowed me to work on it.

Prayer as listening? I have even practiced what I used to teach, active listening.

But I hear nothing.

So I tried listening the same way I meditate.

Not bad, good meditation, but still no messages.

As you may also have noticed I am working on jigsaw puzzles.

And I found something.

If you get your mind to quiet, Other skills come to the fore.

Pattern recognition kicks in and instead of actively looking, I’m passively looking, and it works well. All of a sudden I recognize that piece for that place.

One of my heroes is Walt Longmire (by Craig Johnson).

When he goes on alert he soft focuses his eyes so as to make them motion sensors.

It’s like that.

There are other factors at work if I just be quiet and let them work.

I still haven’t heard anything, but I’m learning.

Shh, listen. Hear that?

– Small town boy 

Leave a Reply

