Fitness and Resistance

Each morning I go to Fitness Over Fifty to work out. One half hour of cardio, and one half hour of weights.

You can adjust the level of resistance on each machine.

As you increase resistance you and your heart become stronger.

There is no improvement without resistance.

You remain flabby.

But as you modify the resistance you see and feel immediate benefits,

To your body, your mind, and your heart are strengthened.

On the stationary bike I select “Random Hill.”

The resistance goes up and down and lasts for longer and longer times;

The higher the resistance, the longer it lasts.

I note that there are also others who are setting their level of resistance.

If you don’t set your level of resistance, you are simply “spinning.”

There is great camaraderie in resisting. Each person working on his or her health.

At home, I prefer to ride my bicycle over hiking because on a bike you only have to climb up one side if the hill.

Not so here at the gym. Like a unicyclist I met once riding from Colorado to Oregon, you must exert yourself on both sides of the hill. No coasting.

Now that I have finished my workout my body feels better.

Stress is removed, and my heart rate is up.

Resistance is good for me.

Set your level, work at it, with others, and feel the results.

– Small town boy 

Leave a Reply

