Sons-in-law

Sons-in-law are different than daughters-in-law.

As I’ve said elsewhere daughters-in-law are God’s gifts to dads.

Sons-in-law are God’s quiet warriors,

that enter the family on the arms of my daughters,

And caretake everyone, quietly, with honor and greatness.

If, if, you are blessed enough to have discerning daughters,

And that is not always the case.

Some men are not more than sperm donors.

Some men abuse my daughters,

And leave them pregnant, alone and unsupported,

Only to return later to try to take the glory denied them by their denial.

But the good ones, like my sons-in-laws are superior men.

I have great sons, don’t get me wrong.

 But these sons-in-laws, of their own volition, married my daughters,

And helped in the raising of the family,

Providing a role model for the boys,

And for the girls too.

They don’s spend a lot of time boasting, preaching, being totalitarian

Heads of their families.

They work. They are at home. They argue with their wives. They hold their children and spend “quality time” with them.

I had no such father myself. So I really appreciate these men who fathered (really fathered) my grandchildren.

I have followed the line from Marco Polo (the TV series) in which Ghengis Khan said, “You have to become the father you wished you had.”

My son-in-laws help me with that.

Thank you Russel and George.

I. Love you.

– Small town boy

Leave a Reply

